Question Yourself

*It’s been a busy couple of weeks. There are few things I enjoy more than sitting down to write for Outspoken Ally, so I’m happy to be back on track.*  

Have you ever sat alone and asked yourself tough questions? I’m talking about real questions, the ones that relate to your worldview. As members of a social species, as people dependent on others, as human beings with so much potential for good, it’s important to question ourselves. Our worldview matters.

As I learn and grow, I often return to a few questions that are important to me. What do I believe and why? How do I define or view my place in the world? What purpose do I see for my life? What responsibility do I have to others? What makes the causes I fight for so important to me? Are my understandings in line with the best available evidence? How can I maintain a loving and growing relationship with my family? These questions, along with others that may be relevant to your life, are ones that we should all ask ourselves from time to time; and each one of them requires patience. Sometimes it takes me hours, sometimes days, to figure out just how I’m feeling about a particular thing, and each time I feel the same rush of satisfaction in knowing exactly who I am. 

I bring this up today because it feels like so many of us go through life without any real self-examination. We seem to have this surface understanding of ourselves, acting how we think we should act, but not really taking the time to evaluate our true selves. Now more than ever, I think it’s important to reflect. We live in an age where we are inundated with information on a daily basis. The many forms of media delivered to us through devices, that just two decades ago were the stuff of science fiction, allow us to see our world change in real time. As the world changes so do we, and taking a moment to sit back and evaluate our worldview every once in awhile becomes increasingly important. We owe it to ourselves, and we owe it to each other. 

When we understand ourselves, we can understand and accept one another. Co-operation and unity come when people work together with mutual understanding and respect. My voice as an ally is stronger when I am in tune with the world around me, and understand my place in it. That’s when I best serve my purpose, it’s when I’m most effective, most aware … it’s when I’m happiest. 

No matter how busy your life is right now, take a moment for self-reflection. The equality that Outspoken Ally was born to fight for cannot be reached without the strength of community, a strength that is best achieved when we as individuals are self-aware. Question yourself. Learn from the world around you. We’re all in this together, and it’s time we take steps toward acting like it.         

Leave a Reply

