Hello

Hello:

My name is Josh Osborne, and I study the relationship between Christianity, homophobia, and Western cultural perspectives. Welcome to my blog!

Content here will be dedicated to exploration of many issues concerning traditional Christian doctrine, and with cultural and historical considerations duly given we will see how the church has gone off the proverbial rails on so many issues. After 31 years in the church, 26 of those as an evangelical fundamentalist Christian, I come with a lot of knowledge about the church past and present. The son of an Anglican priest, I received a very in-depth Christian education. While earning a degree in Cultural Anthropology, I developed the skills to analyze that which I had been taught. I now dedicate my life to helping those who have been, and continue to be, downtrodden by archaic and discriminatory doctrine and false information. In particular, I fight against Christian majority teaching that leads to homophobia in our Western cultural paradigms. I hope you enjoy my blog!

Cheers!

3 thoughts on “Hello

  1. Hi Josh – my daughter just returned from the GSA retreat in Moncton and said she got a chance to hear your talk. Wanted you to know about the conversation we’re having in our faith circle – we are open, inclusive and welcoming to all – and our pastor has documented our journey in his latest book – Learning to Interpret Toward Love – I think you’d find it quite encouraging: http://www.amazon.com/Learning-Interpret-Toward-Peter-Fitch-ebook/dp/B00DNC5I0Y/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1382321218&sr=1-1&keywords=peter+fitch

    • Thank you very much for the comment, Heidi. My research focuses on how official Christian doctrine has created the homophobia we see in North America by way of its importance in our social discourse. People like Peter Fitch challenge that doctrine, and I am very grateful for faith leaders like him. By focusing on the love taught by Jesus, your faith community is doing what Christians ought to do. I’m not sure who your daughter is (I met sooo many people this weekend), but I must also say that the fact that she is comfortable talking about the conference and these issues with you is encouragement enough. We have a long way to go (the numbers suggest that homophobic Christianity is still the majority in North America and on the rise in Africa) but it lightens my heart when I see Christians breaking the traditional mold. Well done.

Leave a Reply

